Skip to content Skip to navigation

J.E. Wallace Sterling Award

Will Paisley, '20 Winner of the 2020 J.E. Wallace Sterling Award

Each spring, the Stanford Alumni Association invites faculty and staff to nominate a graduating senior for the J.E. Wallace Sterling Award. It is named for J.E. Wallace Sterling, who served as Stanford’s president from 1949 to 1968 and as chancellor until 1985.

The award recognizes a senior whose undergraduate leadership and volunteer activities have made the largest impact on the Stanford community. Service might include involvement in athletics, clubs, drama and musical productions, fundraising, journalism, public service, religious organizations, residential education, social and political organizations, student government or university committees.

Congratulations to Will Paisley, winner of the 2020 J.E. Wallace Sterling Award!

Please feel free to read about recent recipients: Ian Macato (2019) Ibrahim Bharmal (2018) LoMo Phillips (2017) Robert Chun (2016) and to review the complete list of past winners below.